The International Cricket Council has announced groups, host cities and the dates for the World Cup 2015. According to the schedule, archrivals Pakistan and India are not only in the same group, but their event will start with both teams clashing with each other head-on.icc-world-cup-2015-logo

The details of the schedule were announced in special meetings held in Melbourne and Auckland early Tuesday, according to which the tournament is going to be held in Australia and New Zealand after 21 years. The final of the event will be played in the historic ground of Melbourne, the ground where Pakistan claimed their only ODI World Cup in 1992 under the captaincy of Imran Khan.

The 1992 event was a trendsetting and innovative tournament and hopes are running high this time too that the upcoming World Cup will prove to be the most memorable one of all the previous tournaments.

The ICC’s 10 permanent members and four qualifiers will take part in the tournament and will be divided in two groups as given below:

World Cup 2015 Groups

Group AGroup B
England South Africa
Australia India
Sri Lanka Pakistan
Bangladesh West Indies
New Zealand Zimbabwe
Qualifier 2 Ireland
Qualifier 3 Qualifier 4

The top four teams of each group will qualify for the quarter-finals.

The tournament will start from February 14 with Sri Lanka-New Zealand match at Christchurch and Australia-New Zealand day-night match at Melbourne. Pakistan and India will start their campaign the next day at Adelaide Oval.

A total of 49 matches will be played in the event at 14 venues of the two countries. 26 matches will be held in Australia and 23 in New Zealand.

Pakistan and Ireland will play the last group match on March 15 after which the first quarter-final will be played on March 18 in Sydney.

The semi-finals will take place on March 24 and March 26, followed by the final on March 29.

Complete Schedule

February 14 Sri Lankavs New ZealandChristchurch
February 14 Englandvs AustraliaMelbourne
February 15 South Africavs ZimbabweHamilton
February 15 Indiavs PakistanAdelaide
February 16 West Indiesvs IrelandNelson
February 17 New Zealandvs Qualifier 3Dunedin
February 18 Bangladeshvs Qualifier 2Canberra
February 19 Zimbabwevs Qualifier 4Nelson
February 20 Englandvs New ZealandWellington
February 21 Pakistanvs West IndiesChristchurch
February 21 Australiavs BangladeshBrisbane
February 22 Sri Lankavs Qualifier 2Dunedin
February 22 South Africavs IndiaMelbourne
February 23 Englandvs Qualifier 3Christchurch
February 24 West Indiesvs ZimbabweCanberra
February 25 Irelandvs Qualifier 4Brisbane
February 26 Qualifier 2vs Qualifier 3Dunedin
February 26 Sri Lankavs BangladeshMelbourne
February 27 South Africavs West IndiesSydney
February 28 Indiavs Qualifier 4Perth
February 28 Australiavs New ZealandAuckland
March 1 Englandvs Sri LankaWellington
March 1 Pakistanvs ZimbabweBrisbane
March 3 South Africavs IrelandCanberra
March 4 Pakistanvs Qualifier 4Napier
March 4 Australiavs Qualifier 2Perth
March 5 Bangladeshvs Qualifier 3Nelson
March 6 Indiavs West IndiesPerth
March 7 South Africavs PakistanAuckland
March 7 Zimbabwevs IrelandHobart
March 8 New Zealandvs Qualifier 2Napier
March 8 Australiavs Sri LankaSydney
March 9 Englandvs BangladeshAdelaide
March 10 Indiavs IrelandHamilton
March 11 Sri Lankavs Qualifier 3Hobart
March 12 South Africavs Qualifier 4Wellington
March 13 Bangladeshvs New ZealandHamilton
March 13 Englandvs Qualifier 2Sydney
March 14 Indiavs ZimbabweAuckland
March 14 Australiavs Qualifier 3Hobart
March 15 West Indiesvs Qualifier 4Napier
March 15 Pakistanvs IrelandAdelaide
March 18 To be decided1st Quarterfinal To be decidedSydney
March 19 To be decided2nd Quarterfinal To be decidedMelbourne
March 20 To be decided3rd Quarterfinal To be decidedAdelaide
March 21 To be decided4th Quarterfinal To be decidedWellington
March 24 To be decided1st Semifinal To be decidedAuckland
March 26 To be decided2nd Semifinal To be decidedSydney
March 29 To be decidedFinal To be decidedMelbourne

India, who won the last World Cup after beating Sri Lanka by 6 wickets in Wankhede Stadium in April, 2011, will now defend their title on the wickets of Australia and New Zealand.
Share To:


Post A Comment:

0 comments so far,add yours