The cricket world was waiting for the Twenty20 world champions West Indies to announce their squad for the coming Champions Trophy after all the teams had announced theirs. However, the belated announcement is surprising for many as West Indies have made Dwayne Bravo their new captain while Darren Sammy continues to lead the Test and T20 sides.

[caption id="attachment_833" align="alignright" width="234"]Darren Sammy was enjoying the IPL when the news emerges (Photo: BCCI) Darren Sammy was enjoying the IPL when the news emerges (Photo: BCCI)[/caption]

Where new captains make their start from the T20 format the world over, West Indies’ decision to make Bravo captain of the ODI team is astonishing and what adds insult to injury is that the new captain will lead the side in the biggest tournament of the year and he has just one month for preparations. Now, Bravo will captain the side and “former” captain Sammy will be subordinate to him.

West Indies openly took the decision while boasting that the team’s Test and T20 performances are getting better and they are happy with Sammy’s captaincy. But ODI results were not the same, which is why there is a change in the leadership.

However, West Indies will participate in the event with a strong team, including experienced players like Chris Gayle, Kevin Pollard, Sunil Narine, Darren Sammy, Marlon Samuels and Ramnaresh Sarwan, who may not be that great as a whole, but their popularity as individuals is unquestionable.

West Indies will be in the ‘group of death’ i.e. group B along with Pakistan, India and South Africa. They will play their first match against Pakistan on June 7 at The Oval, London.

The Caribbeans have lots of good memories associated with these stadiums of England. The last time when the Champions Trophy was held in these grounds in 2004, West Indies defeated the hosts England. Moreover, they have reached the final of 1998 and 2006 tournaments. So, they have a brilliant history as far as the tournament is concerned. Even the defending champions Australia, who are yearning for making a hat-trick title win this year, have not reached in finals as many times as West Indies have.

West Indies squad:

Dwayne Bravo (captain), Denesh Ramdin (wicket-keeper), Tino Best, Darren Bravo, Johnson Charles, Chris Gayle, Jason Holder, Sunil Narine, Kieron Pollard, Ravi Rampaul, Kemar Roach, Darren Sammy, Marlon Samuels, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Devon Smith.
Share To:


Post A Comment:

0 comments so far,add yours