Read this in Urdu

The brightest aspect of the historic victory of Pakistan in India was the brilliant performance by young batsman Nasir Jamshed, who has played a pivotal role in Pakistan’s win in the first two one-day international matches. He has scored centuries in both matches and is now eyeing a world record—scoring centuries in three consecutive one-day matches, a record held by Saeed Anwar, Asian Bradman Zaheer Abbas, South Africa’s Herschelle Gibbs and the present captain AB de Villiers. However, no batsman has yet made four successive centuries.

[caption id="attachment_164" align="alignright" width="300"]Nasir Jamshed can become third Pakistani batsman to score three consecutive hundreds (Photo: BCCI) Nasir Jamshed can become third Pakistani batsman to score three consecutive hundreds (Photo: BCCI)[/caption]

Now, all eyes are on Jamshed whether he could make his place in this list at Feroz Shah Kotla stadium.

In Chennai, Jamshed played an unbeatable innings of 101 runs, playing a key role in Pakistan’s win over India. But, unfortunately, he wasn’t given the man-of-the-match award. However in the next match in Kolkata, his 106-run knock helped Pakistan seal victory and earn him the award.

This was his third consecutive century against India in ODIs. He had made a century against India in a group match of Asia Cup last year. Though Pakistan couldn’t win the match because of Virat Kohli’s deadly 183-run inning, Jamshed proved that his bat is prolific against the archrivals.

Now, if Nasir succeeds in playing a three-digit inning in Feroz Shah Kotla, this would be the fifth time in history that a batsman scores three back-to-back centuries in ODIs.

In the history of one-day cricket, the record of making three continuous centuries was first made by Zaheer Abbas in 1982-83, when he made three centuries against the traditional rival India in the one-day matches held at Multan, Lahore and Karachi. In the Multan one-day, which was the second match of the series, Pakistan got victory due to Abbas’ brilliant innings of 118 runs. He made 105 runs in the next match but India won the match by 18 runs. In the fourth match of the series at the National Stadium of Karachi, Abbas played a stormy innings of 113 off 99 balls, including 11 fours and three sixes. Pakistan won the match by eight wickets as a result and the series by 3-1.

Asian Bradman held the record for around a decade until 1993 when Saaed Anwar hit three back-to-back centuries in Sharjah.

In the Pepsi Champions Trophy played in October-November 1993 in Sharja, Anwar scored 107 against Sri Lanka, 131 against West Indies and 111 against Sri Lanka to get his name included in the record book. In the last match, Pakistan chased a 271-run target in the last over, thanks to Anwar, whose both innings proved fruitful.

In September-October 2002, Gibbs scored three centuries against Kenya, India and Bangladesh and in 2010, AB de Villiers scored two hundreds against India and one against West Indies to places their names in the list.

If Nasir makes a century in New Delhi, his name would also shine in the list and this would be the first time in cricket history that Pakistan whitewash their archrivals.

Batsmen who scored three consecutive centuries in ODIs

Zaheer Abbasپاکستان118بھارتMultanDecember 17, 1982
105بھارتLahoreDecember 31, 1982
113بھارتKarachiJanuary 21, 1983
Saeed Anwarپاکستان107سری لنکاSharjahOctober 30, 1993
131ویسٹ انڈیزSharjahNovember 1, 1993
111سری لنکاSharjahNovember 2, 1993
Herschelle Gibbsجنوبی افریقہ116کینیاColomboSeptember 20, 2002
116*بھارتColomboSeptember 25, 2002
153بنگلہ دیشPotchefstroomOctober 3, 2002
AB de Villiersجنوبی افریقہ114*بھارتGwaliorFebruary 24, 2010
112*بھارتAhmedabadFebruary 27, 2010
102ویسٹ انڈیزNorth SoundMay 22, 2010

Share To:


Post A Comment:

0 comments so far,add yours