The Pakistan Cricket Board has announced a 16-man squad for the upcoming one-day series against South Africa.

[caption id="attachment_2408" align="alignright" width="294"]The uncertainty looming over Umar Akmal’s career is now gone. (Photo: AFP) The uncertainty looming over Umar Akmal’s career is now gone. (Photo: AFP)[/caption]

The selectors have once again recalled Umar Akmal and Wahab Riaz, and now there are no doubts about Umar. He was sent back to Pakistan during a series against West Indies last month and there were reports that he was suffering from epilepsy.

However, his medical reports proved he doesn’t have the condition and he is declared clear. But he was not included for Pakistan’s tour of Zimbabwe which followed tour of West Indies.

Now, as test reports have declared him medically fit, he has been selected for the ODI series against South Africa.

Riaz, who was failed to perform in West Indies tour and was axed for Zimbabwe tour, has also been recalled for the upcoming ODI series.

His selection shows that selectors want to make Pakistan bowling attack more balanced as it is inclined towards spinners in the ongoing Tests series.

Moreover, Sohaib Maqsood, who belonged to Multan, has replaced Haris Sohail. Maqsood represented Pakistan in two Twenty20s during Zimbabwe tour.

Currently, Pakistan and South Africa are playing Test series. Pakistan clinched the first Test, played in Abu Dhabi. The second and the last Test will start from Oct 23 in Dubai, after which both teams will play five ODIs from Oct 30 to Nov 11.

ODI Squad:

Misbahul Haq (captain), Ahmed Shahzad, Asad Shafiq, Junaid Khan, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Saeed Ajmal, Sohail Tanvir, Shahid Afridi, Sohaib Maqsood, Abdur Rehman, Umar Akmal, Umar Amin, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Irfan, Nasir Jamshed and Wahab Riaz.
Share To:


Post A Comment:

0 comments so far,add yours