English soil and no controversy? Impossible. As fans are trying to forget Ian Bell’s runout case, Stuart Broad’s disputed notout today in Trent Bridge has added a new chapter in the history of controversies.

[caption id="attachment_1846" align="alignright" width="300"]The controversial moment (Photo: PA Photos) The controversial moment (Photo: PA Photos)[/caption]

In the first Test between the archrivals, the hosts have firmed their grip, thanks to a seventh-wicket partnership between Broad and Bell. But when the score was 297 and England were leading by 232, an Ashton Agar’s delivery nibbled away Braod’s bat, going straight to wicket-keeper Brad Haddin, touching his pad and then into the hands of Michael Clarke in the first slip. As Australia started celebrating the end of a key partnership, Aleem Dar remained unmoved. Broad was not out despite being out. The tourists had already used their two reviews, so they lost a crucial wicket.

It was quite clear from the replay that the ball touched the bat. Now fingers started pointing at Broad that why he should not have left the crease. Commentator Michael Holding went so far that he said Broad did what had been done by West Indies wicket-keeper Dinesh Ramdin in the 2013 Champions Trophy, means an act against the game’s spirit. Pakistan captain Misbah-ul-Haq lost his wicket after Ramdin pretending taking a catch, but the ball had actually touched the ground. The ICC slapped a two-match ban on Ramdin after that.

So Broad’s notout helped England reach 326 for six after three days. The partnership between the two now stands at 108, with Bell at 95 and Broad at 47. On the other hand, Australia, whose bowlers were performing as well as they did in the first innings, returned with a heavy heart.

Overall, the third day at Trent Bridge proved lucky for the hosts. Bell was saved by the UDRS when he was declared lbw by umpire Kumar Dharmasena on 34. Ironically, the same UDRS also saved Broad because Australia were left with no reviews.

The expressions of anger on Australian players looked quite strange. The same who are (in)famous for not moving an inch until the umpire’s decision are now sermonising for the “spirit of the game”.  Set aside Ricky Ponting, the present captain Michael Clarke is no angel, too. In the 2008 series against India, he was out on Anil Kumble’s ball, but a wrong decision by the umpire rescued him. He repeated the same in 2012 Ashes. So protesting on such an issue does not suit them.

Then came Shane Warne, posting tweets against Aleem Dar, including this one: "We all make mistakes & it's a very tough job being an umpire, but when Dar continually makes crucial mistakes why does he keep getting a gig."

Mr Warne, talk some sense. Please.
Share To:


Post A Comment:

0 comments so far,add yours