Sri Lanka have announced their strong squad for this 2013 Champions Trophy, with Mahela Jayawardene, Rangana Herath and Chanaka Welegedara returning to the team.

[caption id="attachment_732" align="alignright" width="213"]Champions Trophy will be the first and the biggest challenge for Mathews as captain (Photo: Getty Images) Champions Trophy will be the first and the biggest challenge for Mathews as captain (Photo: Getty Images)[/caption]

Jayawardene, who quitted as ODI captain earlier this year, could not play recently held one-day series against Bangladesh, and Herath was rested in the series. Welegedara returned to the side first time since 2010.

Sri Lanka have excluded out-of-form Upul Tharanga, Ajantha Mendis and three other undistinguished players from the side to make space for Jayawardene, Herath and Welegedara.

Anyways, it will be the first major test for newly selected captain Angelo Mathews. Mathews’ captaincy was tested in the first match of recent Test series against Bangladesh, and eventually, Sri Lanka managed to end the series in a 1-1 draw. But the coming Champions Trophy will tell who have the nerve to stand up to pressure when world’s eight best teams are going to face each other in England.

Sri Lanka are in group A along with Australia, England and New Zealand in the last edition of the Champions Trophy. They will play their first match against Kiwis on June 9 in Cardiff.

In 2002, Sri Lanka clinched the Champions Trophy title when they were declared co-winner along with India after rain had washed away final twice.


Angelo Mathews (captain), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Thisara Perera, Jeevan Mendis, Chanaka Welagedera, Dinesh Chandimal (vice captain), Rangana Herath, Sachithra Senanayake, Shaminda Eranga, Kusal Janith Perera, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardena, Lahiru Thirimanne, Lasith Malinga and Nuwan Kulasekera.
Share To:


Post A Comment:

0 comments so far,add yours