Major cricket teams are announcing their squads as 2013 Champions trophy approaches. The squad South Africa have announced for this year’s most important tournament does not include Jacques Kallis.

[caption id="attachment_736" align="alignright" width="251"]Can AB de Villiers shed “chokers” tag from South Africa? Time will tell (Photo: PA Photos) Can AB de Villiers shed “chokers” tag from South Africa? Time will tell (Photo: PA Photos)[/caption]

Kallis has ruled himself out of the tournament, citing personal reasons, thus cricket lovers will not see a legendary player in action in the history’s last Champions Trophy.

Though Kallis decided to stay away from the tournament on the pretext of personal reasons, it is quite clear from his conduct that he wanted to give lesser attention to limited-overs cricket to focus on Test matches. This can be gauged by the fact that he has not played a single ODI for more than a year.

However, Jean-Paul Duminy has made a return in the squad after having been out of the team for a long time because of injury. He was rested last year after developing Achilles tendon pain during a series against Australia and could not play international cricket since then.

Duminy’s inclusion is the only change in the team and he replaced wicket-keeper Quinton de Kock.

South Africa, who have recently won a series against Pakistan, will enter the ground with confidence. But their record of failing in the international tournaments has been haunting them like a nightmare. Now, time will tell if Proteas are able to detach themselves from their past and win an ICC tournament. However, South Africa did beat West Indies in 1998, when the first version of the tournament was introduced and was termed as “Mini World Cup”.

In this year’s Champions Trophy, South Africa are in group B along with strong teams like West Indies, Pakistan and India. Their first match will be against India on June 6 in Cardiff.

The reins of the captaincy will still be in the hands of AB de Villiers and the remaining squad will almost be the same as in the recent ODI series against Pakistan.

South Africa squad:

AB de Villiers (captain), Aaron Phangiso, JP Duminy, Dale Steyn, David Miller, Robin Peterson, Ryan McLaren, Rory Kleinveldt, Farhaan Behardien, Hashim Amla, Faf du Plessis, Colin Ingram, Morne Morkel, Graeme Smith and Lonwabo Tsotsobe.
Share To:


Post A Comment:

0 comments so far,add yours