The International Cricket Council has announced the scheduled for World T20, to be held next year in Bangladesh. Pakistan and India are in the same group and will face each other on March 21.

[caption id="attachment_2425" align="alignright" width="300"]West Indies will defend their title. (Photo: Getty Images) West Indies will defend their title. (Photo: Getty Images)[/caption]

According to an ICC press release, the tournament will take place from March 16 to April 6. The equivalent tournament for women will also be held during the same period.  West Indies will defend men’s title, whereas Australia will defend women’s.

In men’s tournament, the number of teams has been increased to 16 from 12, and a few changes have been made in the format. The tournament has been divided into two stages. In first, Zimbabwe, Bangladesh and World T20 qualifiers will play against each other. Teams in this format have been divided into two groups, and winner of each pool will qualify for the ‘Super 10’ round to join top eight T20 international teams.

In the first stage, the group A will be comprised of the hosts Bangladesh and three other teams, which will have reached to the WT20 after having through W20 qualifiers to be held Nov 15 to 30 in the United Arab Emirates. Zimbabwe and three other qualifiers will be in Group B. The fate of six teams, other than Zimbabwe and Bangladesh, will be decided by Nov 30 when the qualifiers end.

The first phase of the World T20 will be played from March 16 to 21. The next phase, Super 10, will start from the clash between Pakistan and India on March 21.

West Indies will start defending their title on March 23 when they face India. Pakistan will play their second match of the event against Australia the same day.

If Bangladesh succeed in reaching Super 10, they will play all their matches in Dhaka: March 25, against West Indies; March 28, against India; March 30, against Pakistan; and April 1, against Australia.

A total of $3 million has been allocated for the men’s tournament, from which $1.1 million will be given to the winners and $550,000 will be awarded to the runner-ups.

Super 10 will be divided into two following groups:

ICC World T20 2014: Group 1 for Super 10 round

Sri Lanka
South Africa
New Zealand
Group B qualifier

ICC World T20 2014: Group 2 for Super 10 round

West Indies
Group A qualifier
Share To:


Post A Comment:

0 comments so far,add yours