Luck or bad luck? Both, perhaps. In the second Twenty20 International against Zimbabwe, Ahmed Shehzad did secure the record of scoring most individual runs in an innings by any Pakistani player in the format, but unfortunately he failed to complete his century by just two runs. On the last ball of Pakistan’s innings, he required three runs to achieve the milestone. But he could take only one and returned to the pavilion on 98 not out.

[caption id="attachment_2241" align="alignright" width="212"]Ahmed Shehzad broke Misbah-ul-Haq’s record of biggest individual T20 innings for Pakistan (Photo: AFP) Ahmed Shehzad broke Misbah-ul-Haq’s record of biggest individual T20 innings for Pakistan (Photo: AFP)[/caption]

Shehzad took 64 balls to build the innings, which included six sky-high 6s and as much 4s. It was the most number of sixes hit by a Pakistani batsman in T20s. He also broke Misbah-ul-Haq’s record of 87 runs in an innings which he set on Apr 20, 2008 against Bangladesh.

Had Shehzad succeeded in completing his hundred, he would have become  the ninth batsmen to play a three-digit innings in T20s. Those who have scored centuries in the shortest format of the game include two players of Sri Lanka and New Zealand each and one player each from South Africa, West Indies, India and Scotland.

New Zealand’s Brendon McCullum is the only batsman to have scored two centuries, whereas South Africa’s Richard Levi holds the record of the fastest century as he scored 117 off 51.

However, it was Shehzad’s innings which helped Pakistan amass such a big total of 179 runs at the loss of just one wicket. It was only the second time in the history of T20s that a team completed its innings, losing only one player. Coincidentally, the last time it happened the total was also 179, scored by Bangladesh against West Indies in 2012 in Dhaka.

Below in the list of all the centuries scored in the format so far:

Batsmen who have made centuries in T20 Internationals

BatsmanTeamRunsBalls4s6sStrike ratevsVenueDate
Brendon McCullumنیوزی لینڈ12358117212.06بنگلہ دیشPallekeleSept 21, 2012
Richard Leviجنوبی افریقہ117*51513229.41نیوزی لینڈHamiltonFeb 19, 2010
Chris Gayleویسٹ انڈیز11757710205.26جنوبی افریقہJohannesburgSept 11, 2007
Brendon McCullumنیوزی لینڈ116*56128207.14آسٹریلیاChristchurchFeb 28, 2010
Tillakaratne Dilshanسری لنکا104*57125182.45آسٹریلیاPallekeleAug 6, 2011
Martin Guptillنیوزی لینڈ101*6996146.37جنوبی افریقہEast LondonDec 23, 2012
Suresh Rainaبھارت1016095168.33جنوبی افریقہGros IsletMay 2, 2010
Mahela Jayawardeneسری لنکا10064104156.25زمبابوےProvidenceMay 3, 2010
Richie Berringtonاسکاٹ لینڈ10058105172.41بنگلہ دیشThe HagueJul 24, 2012
Share To:


Post A Comment:

0 comments so far,add yours