The last round match of the 2013 Champions Trophy played between Australia and Sri Lanka unexpectedly entered in exciting phase, and before the Sri Lankan fans suffered heart attack, Tillakaratne Dilshan ended the Aussies’ campaign with an unbelievable catch. The 20-run victory helped Sri Lanka to qualify for the semi-finals and it also sent packing Australia and New Zealand form the tournament.

[caption id="attachment_1684" align="alignright" width="300"]The moment of triumph (Photo: AFP) The moment of triumph (Photo: AFP)[/caption]

Though it was a pleasant end for Sri Lanka, Australia did ruffle a few feathers before quitting. They were supposed to achieve the 254-run target in 29.1 overs to qualify for the final four, which they couldn’t. However, they also did not allow the opponents to gain the first position in the group as Sri Lanka would have got the top slot had Australia were dismissed before 164. Moreover, Australia also lulled New Zealand into a false sense of security as the Black Caps were pinning all their hopes on Australia to proceed to the next round.

Australian captain George Bailey won toss and put the opponents into bat in the match that was going to decide the fate of three teams. After the in-form Kumar Sangakkara failed to perform in the crucial match, it was Mahela Jayawardene who faded away all the hopes of Australia and New Zealand to reach the semi-finals with his unbeaten 84 runs. After Kusal Perera and Sangakkara left the ground on just 20 runs, Dilshan and Lahiru Thirimanne gave their team some sense of relief by adding 72 runs together. After Dilshan was dismissed on 34, Jayawardene came to stay till the end. Thirimanne’s 57 and Dinesh Chandimal’s 31 also helped Sri Lanka amass a respectable total at the loss of eight wickets.

Australia’s Mitchell Johnson took three while Clint McKay, James Faulkner and Xavier Doherty took one wicket apiece.

Australia’s actual aim was to score 254 runs in a maximum of 29.1 overs and they started accordingly. But they failed to defend their wickets. When the 30th over started, Australia had lost their eight wickets on 189. Australia had been ruled out of the tournament by the time, but it was yet to be decided which was going to be the last team to qualify for the semis, because if the Aussies had won the match, New Zealand, and not Sri Lanka, would have reached the semi-finals.

[caption id="attachment_1685" align="alignright" width="278"]Mahela Jayawardene crossed the 11,000-run milestone in the ODIs during his undefeated 84 runs’ innings (Photo: ICC) Mahela Jayawardene crossed the 11,000-run milestone in the ODIs during his undefeated 84 runs’ innings (Photo: ICC)[/caption]

Glenn Maxwell’s quick 32 and Adam Voges’ put some resistance, but actually it was the last-wicket partnership of 41 runs that reduced the Sri Lanka’s thousands of fans to silence. The crowd broke into a thunderous applause when Voges’ wicket fell on 192 as he was Australia’s last hope, because scoring 62 runs in 20 overs with one wicket remaining seemed a distant dream.

But McKay and Doherty played responsibly in the end and guided the match to a position where Australia, and New Zealand, started hoping that Sri Lanka would be returning home after the match. Bu when Australia required another 21 runs in 46 balls, Dilshan rounded off the competition with a mind-boggling catch. Nuwan Kulasekara took three wicket while Rangana Herath took two. Shaminda Eranga, Angelo Mathews, Lasith Malinga and Dilshan each claim wicket.

The man-of-the-match award went to Jayawardene for playing a key role in the team’s victory by his unbeaten 84 off 81, which included 11 fours.

Sri Lanka missed the chance to restrict Australia to 164. By doing they so, they would have got the top slot in their group and would face South Africa in the semi-final. Now as they are at the second position, they will go head to head with India, the only unbeaten side in the tournament so far.

The first semi-final will be played at The Oval between England and South Africa on June 19. In the second semi-final, India will lock horns with Sri Lanka on June 20 in Cardiff.

The moment of triumph (Photo: AFP)

Mahela Jayawardene crossed the 11,000-run milestone in the ODIs during his undefeated 84 runs’ innings (Photo: ICC)

Australia vs Sri Lanka

Champions Trophy 2013, Match 12

June 17, 2013

Venue: The Oval

Result: Sri Lanka won by 20 runs

Man of the match: Mahela Jayawardene

سری لنکاRunsBalls4s6s
Kusal Pereralbw b Johnson4310
Tillakaratne Dilshanc Watson b Doherty345810
Kumar Sangakkarac Maxwell b McKay31100
Lahiru Thirimannec Watson b Johnson57640
Mahela Jayawardenenot out8481110
Angelo Mathewsb Faulkner122010
Dinesh Chnadimalc Hughes b Johnson313211
Nuwan Kulasekararun out (Maxwell/Wade)6500
Rangana Herathrun out (Marsh/Faulkner)2500
Lasith Malinganot out2100
Extras(byes 5, leg-byes 7,

wides 4, no-balls 2)
Total(8 wickets; 50 overs)253


Australia (bowling)OversMaidensRunsWickets
Mitchell Johnson100483
Clint McKay101511
James Faulkner90601
Shane Watson40140
Xavier Doherty101301


آسٹریلیاTargte: 254 runsRunsBalls4s6s
Shane Watsonb Kulasekara5710
Phillip Hughesc †Sangakkara b Kulasekara131030
Glenn Maxwellb Malinga322051
George Baileyrun out (Kulasekara)4700
Adam Vogesc Eranga b Herath496220
Mitchell Marshb Mathews41400
Matthew Wadec Dilshan b Kulasekara312341
James Faulknerc †Sangakkara b Herath171430
Mitchell Johnsonc Kulasekara b Eranga4410
Clint McKayc & b Dilshan305820
Xavier Dohertynot out153700
Extras(leg-byes 11, wides 17, no-balls 1)29
Total(all out; 42.3 overs)233


Sri Lanka (bowling)OversMaidensRunsWickets
Shaminda Eranga81401
Nuwan Kulasekara90423
Lasith Malinga90601
Rangana Herath100482
Angelo Mathews30211
Share To:


Post A Comment:

0 comments so far,add yours