Though West Indies won the match against Pakistan, wicketkeeper Denesh Ramdin has been charged for apparently claiming a dropped catch of Pakistan captain Misbah-ul-Haq.

[caption id="attachment_1417" align="alignright" width="197"]If proven guilty, Ramdin will be fined 50 to 100 per cent of the match fee or a suspension of up to two ODIs. (Photo: AFP) If proven guilty, Ramdin will be fined 50 to 100 per cent of the match fee or a suspension of up to two ODIs. (Photo: AFP)[/caption]

During the Group B encounter at the Kia Oval, which the West Indies won by two wickets,

Ramdin appeared to claim a catch he had dropped when Misbah was on zero. He has been charged with breaching Article 2.2.11 of the ICC Code of Conduct which relates to "conduct that is contrary to the spirit of the game", according to an ICC press release.

Misbah had been given out by the umpire and was only recalled when the second umpire took notice of something fishy in the episode. Replay showed that it was a dropped catch and Ramdin collected the ball from the ground.

Ramdin, 28, has pleaded not guilty and a hearing will be held in London tomorrow. If proven guilty, he will be fined 50 to 100 per cent of the match fee or a suspension of up to two ODIs.

In the past, Pakistan wicket-keeper Rashid Latif was banned for five ODIs for doing the same in a match against Bangladesh.
Share To:

CricNama

Post A Comment: