Cricket fans will witness big international tournament for the third year in succession. 2011 was year of World Cup, 2012 was of World Twenty20, and 2013 is the year of the Champions Trophy. Having the name of ‘Mini World Cup’, the second biggest One-day International tournament was started as a knockout tournament and this year its last version is going to be held next month in England.

[caption id="attachment_825" align="alignright" width="300"]Apparently, England seem to be a strong side and it is likely that Alastair Cook bring home the Champions Trophy title (Photo: ICC) Apparently, England seem to be a strong side and it is likely that Alastair Cook bring home the Champions Trophy title (Photo: ICC)[/caption]

The International Cricket Council decided last year to hold one major tournament in every format of the game and, therefore, the Champions Trophy was sacrificed to give space to Test cricket. Now, the tournament, set to start from June 6, will be the last of its kind.

The eight top teams according to the ICC Rankings are taking part in the tournament, to be held from June 6 to 23 in three stadiums of England: Cardiff’s Wales Stadium, London’s historic stadium The Oval and Birmingham’s Edgbaston Stadium.

The opening match will be held between India and South Africa, and the final will be played in Birmingham on June 23 (Sunday).


Squad: Michael Clarke (captain), George Bailey, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Xavier Doherty, James Faulkner, Phillip Hughes, Mitchell Johnson, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Clint McKay, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade (wicket-keeper), David Warner, Shane Watson, Adam Voges.

Australia, who have won the last two editions, are looking forward to complete the hat-trick by finishing the last Champions Trophy as winners. The 15-member squad Australia have announced lacks any prominent player and the decision may cost the team in the event. Apart from captain Michael Clarke and Shane Watson, who can be regarded as the match-winning players, all other team members are either young or inexperienced. However, it would be a treat to watch players like Michelle Starc and David Warner playing in England.


Squad: Alastair Cook (captain), James Anderson, Jonny Bairstow, Ian Bell, Ravi Bopara, Tim Bresnan, Stuart Broad, Jos Buttler, Steve Finn, Eoin Morgan, Joe Root, Graeme Swann, James Tredwell, Jonathan Trott, Chris Woakes.

The hosts England have announced a very strong side that looks quite balanced. The team seems to be a combination of young and experienced players, comprising best bowlers and batsmen. England reached the final of 2004 Champions Trophy but were defeated by West Indies, and now Alastair Cook wants to fulfil the unaccomplished dream.


Squad: Misbah-ul Haq (captain), Mohammad Hafeez, Nasir Jamshed, Imran Farhat, Asad Shafiq, Abdul Rehman, Shoaib Malik, Kamran Akmal (wicket-keeper), Umar Amin, Junaid Khan, Mohammad Irfan, Saeed Ajmal, Asad Ali, Ehsan Adil, Wahab Riaz.

Pakistan, who have always been unpredictable as a team, announced a reasonable side. Though the axing of Shahid Afridi and Umar Akmal has raised many an eyebrow, the team as a whole is balanced. The experienced captain Msibah-ul-Haq is accompanied with young players.


Squad: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Amit Mishra, Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Shikhar Dhawan, Suresh Raina, Dinesh Karthik, Murali Vijay, Rohit Sharma, Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin, Irfan Pathan, Vinay Kumar and Virat Kohli.

For India, winning the Champions Trophy is important because they are world champions and number one in the ICC Rankings. Moreover, India are desperately trying to fill the gap created after the departures of Rahul Dravid and Sachin Tendulkar, and because of the poor forms of the classic batsmen like Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir and Yuvraj Singh. Only time will tell if Dhoni can also wear the crown of Champions Trophy.

South Africa:

Squad: AB de Villiers (captain), Aaron Phangiso, JP Duminy, Dale Steyn, David Miller, Robin Peterson, Ryan McLaren, Rory Kleinveldt, Farhaan Behardien, Hashim Amla, Faf du Plessis, Colin Ingram, Morne Morkel, Graeme Smith and Lonwabo Tsotsobe.

The most strongest contender of the tournament South Africa have announced a solid squad and they are undoubtedly the most favourite team of the event. Under the captaincy of AB de Villiers, the team include the world number one batsman Hashim Amla and bowler Dale Steyn.

New Zealand:

Squad: Brendon McCullum (captain and wicket-keeper), Trent Boult, Grant Elliott, Andrew Ellis, James Franklin, Martin Guptill, Mitchell McClenaghan, Nathan McCullum, Kyle Mills, Colin Munro, Luke Ronchi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Daniel Vettoria and Kane Williamson.

The squad New Zealand have announced are captained by Brendon McCullum and are capable of producing stunning results. Especially, watching Tim Southee and Trent Boult in the English conditions will be a great moment.

Sri Lanka:

Squad: Angelo Mathews (captain), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Thisara Perera, Jeevan Mendis, Chanaka Welagedera, Dinesh Chandimal (vice captain), Rangana Herath, Sachithra Senanayake, Shaminda Eranga, Kusal Janith Perera, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardena, Lahiru Thirimanne, Lasith Malinga and Nuwan Kulasekera.

The upcoming event will be a test case for the newly made captain Angelo Mathews, who will have the support of Mahela Jayawardene, Kumar Sangakkara and Tillakaratne Dilshan. Let’s see, how far the team go under the captaincy of Mathews.

West Indies:

Squad: Dwayne Bravo (captain), Denesh Ramdin (wicket-keeper), Tino Best, Darren Bravo, Johnson Charles, Chris Gayle, Jason Holder, Sunil Narine, Kieron Pollard, Ravi Rampaul, Kemar Roach, Darren Sammy, Marlon Samuels, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Devon Smith.

West Indies, who have recently claimed the World T20 title, are likely to bear the brunt of their odd decision taken in the final moments. The reins of captaincy have been taken from the hands of Darren Sammy and given to Dwayne Bravo, with the announcement that the team’s Test and T20 performances are getting better, but the ODI side need improvement, therefore Bravo will lead the side.  Let’s see what miracles Bravo’s magic will bring.

June 6, 2013بھارتIndvsجنوبی افریقہSAWales Gardens, Cardiff
June 7, 2013ویسٹ انڈیزWIvsپاکستانPakThe Oval, London
June 8, 2013انگلستانEngvsآسٹریلیاAusEdgbaston, Birmingham
June 9, 2013سری لنکاSLvsنیوزی لینڈNZWales Gardens, Cardiff
June 10, 2013پاکستانPakvsجنوبی افریقہSAEdgbaston, Birmingham
June 11, 2013بھارتIndvsویسٹ انڈیزWIThe Oval, London
June 12, 2013آسٹریلیاAusvsنیوزی لینڈNZEdgbaston, Birmingham
June 13, 2013انگلستانEngvsسری لنکاSLThe Oval, London
June 14, 2013ویسٹ انڈیزWIvsجنوبی افریقہSAWales Gardens, Cardiff
June 15, 2013بھارتIndvsپاکستانPakEdgbaston, Birmingham
June 16, 2013انگلستانEngvsنیوزی لینڈNZWales Gardens, Cardiff
June 17, 2013سری لنکاSLvsآسٹریلیاAusThe Oval, London
June 19, 20131st Semi-finalThe Oval, London
June 20, 20132nd Semi-finalWales Gardens, Cardiff
June 23, 2013FinalEdgbaston, Birmingham
Share To:


Post A Comment:

2 comments so far,Add yours

  1. [...] Below is the complete schedule of the warm-up matches. The schedule and teams of the 2013 Champions Trophy can be seen here. [...]

  2. Pakistan team is nothing without Shahid Afridi.