Misbah-ul-Haq has proved once again why he is the right choice to retain his position as the captain of the national side. He silenced his critics by helping his team Sui Northern Gas Pipelines Limited (SNGPL) beat Water and Power Development Authority (Wapda), lifting the title of President’s Cup One-day Tournament – his third win in a row this season.

[caption id="attachment_638" align="alignright" width="224"]Under Misbah’s captaincy, this is the second triumph of SNGPL this year after President’s Trophy (Photo: PCB) Under Misbah’s captaincy, this is the second triumph of SNGPL this year after President’s Trophy (Photo: PCB)[/caption]

Earlier this year, Misbah led SNGPL to clinch President’s Trophy title and helped his regional team Faislabad Wolves claim Super Eight Twenty20.

SNGPL beat Wapda by 32 runs in the match played at National Stadium, Karachi.

Chasing a 284-run target, Wapda failed to make a good start as their two openers – Rafatullah Mohmand and Saad Nasim – were back to pavilion by the sixth over when the team were only on eight. Both wickets were clinched by Asad Ali, who took another two wickets in the match – all clean bowled – and became the leading wicket taker of the tournament, taking 14 wickets. His four wickets off 34 in the match also earned him best-bowler award of the tournament.

The 36-year-old Rafatullah Mohmand, who hit his consecutive third century of the tournament in the semi-finals to help Wapda book a place in the final, managed to make only seven runs against the star-studded SNGPL.

A 100-run partnership by Sohaib Maqsood and Ali Azmat revived the hopes of Wapda’s players as by the time Azmat was dismissed, the team need another 176 runs in 26 overs with seven wickets in hand.

But after Maqsood’s dismissal on 125, Wapda could not put in a big partnership and succeeded to make 251 runs giving away a 32-run victory to the opponents.

Besides Asad’s four, Yasir Shah took two wickets and Mohammad Hafeez and Khurram Shehzad dismissed one batsman apiece.

Earlier, Wapda won the toss and put SNGPL to bat. From the very start it was evident that Misbah’s team was going to reach 300-run mark as both Hafeez and Taufeeq Umar put a 125-run partnership. Hafeez scored 58 off 64 and Umar 79 off 78. Though no other batsman could score a half-century after the opening duo, the side succeeded to set a reasonable target of 284 which eventually led them to clinch the title.

Mohammad Rizwan of the winning side and Ali Nadeem were given the best-wicketkeeper award for their nine catches each. Taufeeq Umar was awarded the best fielder of the tournament.

Wapda’s Sohaib Maqsood was given the best batsman award for his 427 runs in the tournament.
Share To:


Post A Comment:

0 comments so far,add yours